au naturale, homemade hair care, license, miss sixx, natural hair, north Carolina, training hours

Natural Hair Regulated in North Carolina

During the last session of the North Carolina General Assembly a bill was passed and signed into law by Governor Bev Perdue to create a new licensure for natural hair care specialists. This new license will require 300 hours of training at an approved cosmetic art/natural hair care school. Once the law goes into effect July 1, 2010 current natural hair care practitioners will have 1 year to obtain licensure by passing the state board examination developed by NIC, the Board’s testing provider. Natural hair care salons will also be required to become licensed within the year. The Board and its committees are hard at work developing curriculum and regulations to guide this portion of the cosmetic art industry. Many experts in the area of natural hair care have volunteered time to service for the Board and have participated in early planning sessions to help ensure a solid foundation is established for this soon to be regulated licensure class.

Do you see it has a good or bad thing?

1 thought on “Natural Hair Regulated in North Carolina”

  1. I see this as a bad thing. Natural hair? What does Beverly Perdue or her affiliates know about our hair? I feel the intruders (government) just want to control everything and everyone.If chemicals were involved I could see that, but with the things that are done in Natural Hair Salons, people used to do on their back porches! And now the State of North Carolina has stepped in our zone. Is there anything that is ours anymore?

Leave a Reply

Please log in using one of these methods to post your comment: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s